Newly elected UEG authorities ready to tackle the next cycle


Newly elected UEG authorities ready to tackle the next cycle

December 2, 2017

Results of the elections at the 27th UEG Congress in Split (CRO)

An important day in Split (CRO) today as the 50 member federations of the European Union of Gymnastics (UEG) voted to elect their choice of authorities that will guide the UEG through the next 4 years.

Farid Gayibov is the new President of the European Union of Gymnastics (UEG) with 28 votes to 20 for Edvard Kolar. The Azerbaijani becomes the fifth UEG President and succeeds Frenchman Georges Guelzec who stands down after 8 years at the helm. After his election, the new President said: “It was really tight. I have a lot of respect for the other candidate who is real professional person. For the moment I am happy but I start to work on 1st January next year. I have some plans for the future. I wait now for the new team, the election of the Vice Presidents and the Executive Committee, as I can’t do it alone. We’ll be one big European team and I think that all together we will achieve a lot of success. As a Vice President we have already started with several projects like PR, media and marketing which we will continue to improve. Especially this year we had a lot of success with our European Championships. One of our main goals is to attract more people to gymnastics.”

Joining him in the Presidential Board are Rudolf Hediger (SUI), Michel Boutard (FRA) and Athanasios Vasileiadis while Mircea Apolzan (ROU), Erik Juhl Mogensen (DEN), Andrey Fedarau (BLR), Paolo Frising (LUX), Solveig Jonsdottir (ISL), Andrey Rodionenko (RUS) and Judit Körmendy-Ekes (HUN) will assist the discussions and decision making in the Executive Committee, in addition to the Technical Committee Presidents. At the head of the Technical Committees, UEG says thank you and bids farewell to Heide Bruneder (AUT, Rhythmic Gymnastics), Yvette Brasier (FRA, Women’s Artistic Gymnastics), Jacky Wischnia (ISR, Men’s Artistic Gymnastics) and Alberto Claudino (POR, Gymnastics for All). They will be replaced by Maria Petrova (BUL), Anca Grigoras (ROU), Tom Thingvold (NOR) and Hlif Thorgeirsdottir (ISL) respectively. Let us present the 8 Technical Committees:


Men’s Technical Committee

Tom Thingvold (NOR) – President

Dmitri Andreev (RUS)

Nikolaos Provias (GRE)

Mario Vukoja (CRO)

Diego Lazzarich (ITA)

James May (GBR)

Jean-François Blanquino (FRA)


Women’s Technical Committee

Anca Grigoras (ROU) – President

Christine Frauenknecht (SUI)

Hana Liskarova (CZE)

Orna Shai (ISR)

Sabrina Klaesberg (GER)

Mairead Kavanagh (IRL)

Marja Räisänen (FIN)


Rhythmic Gymnastics Technical Committee

Maria Petrova (BUL) – President

Elena Nefedova (RUS)

Dominique Muller-Lauth (FRA)

Marina Lobatch (BLR)

Elena Aliprandi (ITA)

Evangelia Trikomiti (CYP)

Pancracia Sirvent Mut (ESP)


Trampoline Technical Committee

Vladimir Zeman (CZE) – President

Irina Karavaeva (RUS)

Patrick Siegfried (GER)

Luis Nunes (POR)

Babette Van Wetering (NED)

Konrad Bojakowski (POL)

Mariela Stoycheva (BUL)


Acrobatic Gymnastics Technical Committee

Carine Charlier (FRA) – President

Bernardo Tomas (POR)

Dmitry Vinnikov (RUS)

Nikolay Ivanov (BUL)

Melanie Sanders (GBR)

Juan Leon-Prados (ESP)

Ursula Wojtkowiak (POL)


Aerobic Gymnastics Technical Committee

Cristina Casentini (ITA) – President

Alina Dragan (ROU)

Olga Kyselovicova (SVK)

Vladislav Oskner (RUS)

Lefki Ferentinou (GRE)

Andrea Sinko (HUN)

Monika Wiethoff (GER)


TeamGym Technical Committee

Per Sjostrand (SWE) – President

Max Andersen (DEN)

Bianca Franzoi (AUT)

Petr Gryga (CZE)

Heli Lemmety (FIN)

Peter Tranckle (GBR)


Gymnastics for All Technical Committee

Hlif Thorgeirsdottir (ISL) – President

Regina Beeler (SUI)

Ilse Arys (BEL)

Geza Mikes (SRB)

Maria Stahl (SWE)

Heidi Marie Taksdal (NOR)

Maria Papadopoulou (GRE)


And the Control Authorities for the next 4 years are Manu Catalin from Romania as president assisted by Ivan Levak (SLO) and Walter Sinn (AUT). 

To consult the full election results, click here! They will take up their role on 1st January 2018!

Congratulations to the newly elected authorities. It’s a pleasure to have you all on board, working hard to guarantee a beautiful future for European Gymnastics.

The UEG also wishes to express its warmest thank you to the Croatian Gymnastics Federation for hosting a magnificent Congress and showing off the capabilities of the organisers.